“A sleek mystery brimming with heart and powered by rocket fuel.”
— C. MATTHEW SMITH, author of Twentymile

When Janelle Ortega’s cousin from Mexico is found brutally murdered at a remote petroglyph site in Saguaro National Park on the outskirts of Tucson in southern Arizona, she and archaeologist Chuck Bender are drawn deep into a threatening web of hostility and deceit stretching south across the US-Mexico border and back in time a thousand years, to when the Hohokam people thrived in the Sonoran Desert.

Available Here

Reviews

With Saguaro Sanction, Scott Graham has pulled off yet another storytelling feat: a whodunit in the tradition of Agatha Christie and Ellery Queen, set in the rugged majesty of one of the lesser known national parks. Touching on themes both new and familiar to his work—family, immigration, the uniquely complicated history of the land at its core—this is a sleek mystery brimming with heart and powered by rocket fuel.
—C. MATTHEW SMITH, author of Twentymile

Prickly issues, a dramatic setting, and a taut plot—Saguaro Sanction scores a trifecta of suspenseful reading pleasure. With Scott Graham at the wheel, you know you’re in for a rewarding ride.
—MARK STEVENS, author of The Fireballer and the Allison Coil Mystery Series

Expertly plotted, Saguaro Sanction delivers a page–turning mystery along with another suspenseful episode in the lives of archaeologist Chuck Bender and his family. A masterful novelist, Scott Graham weaves environmental and historical details together with stunning backcountry landscapes in each of his National Park Mysteries. Brilliant storytelling!
—MARGARET MIZUSHIMA, author of the award–winning Timber Creek K–9 Mysteries, including Standing Dead